Lightning fast search on KDE Plasma 5.25

I moved from Kubuntu 20.04 to KDE Neon a few months ago. I was missing out on all the latest and greatest developments in the KDE Plasma Desktop, since Kubuntu LTS was slow to roll them out. What I am sharing here is a serendipitous discovery of a basic KDE Plasma feature pertaining to KRunner! KRunner is a command-line style launcher that ships with KDE Neon. You can find out more about it here.

I was under the impression that to invoke KRunner, you had to press Alt+Space or some other keyboard shortcut first, and then start typing your query. So I would press the ‘Meta’ Key or ‘Windows’ Key and use the Desktop launcher instead. However, I discovered that if you have no windows open or are focused on the desktop, then you can straightaway start typing and the input will be captured by KRunner.

KRunner in Action!

I find this really cool! Hope its useful for you too.

Do share your favourite KDE tips in the comments.

Leave a comment